RFYS Champions crowned on historic day

The Reliance Foundation Youth Sports today saw the National Championships draw to a close, with the winners of the Junior Boys, Senior Girls, Senior Boys and College Boys champions in joyous moods.

The day started with the Junior Boys Final, between Chowbagha H.S. (Kolkata) and Sacred Heart HSSS (Kochi). Going into the finals, Sacred Heart HSS had conceded only 4 goals, which is why what happened in the first 5 minutes of the finals shocked all. Chowbagha raced to a 3-0 lead in the in 5 minutes, as Partho C’Kroborty (1) & Surya Sarkar (2) found the back of the net. The Kochi side was left in shock but managed to quell the threat of further goals in the half. The second half saw Chowbagha return with the same vigor and attacking threat. Samrat Sikder found the net to increase the lead for the Kolkata side to 4-0. At the 46 minute mark, Surya Sarkar completed his hat-trick as Chowbagha took a 5-0 lead. They were not finished yet, though, as another goal by Surya Sarkar and one by Ajay Tolange meant a 7-0 victory for the junior boys from Kolkata. The Golden Awards were handed to the following players in the Junior Boys category: Kamran Ansari (Golden Boot) of Antonio DSouza High School from Mumbai, Nihal Sudeesh (Golden Ball) of Sacred Heart HSSS from Kochi and Avishak Shaw (Golden Glove) of Chowbagha High School from Kolkata.

In the second final of the day, Fr. Agnel Multipurpose School & Jr. College faced off against Rosary Higher Secondary School. Neither side had lost a game going into the finals, with both sides winning all their 4 games so far. Having scored more than 30 goals each during the tournament and having conceded only 1 goal between them, the game promised to a cracker of a match and did not disappoint. While the game had only a solitary goal in it, there were a lot of exciting moments throughout the game. Annette was the star for the Goan side, as she made numerous saves to deny Fr. Agnel from scoring. Alas, in the 22nd minute she lost her battle with Akanksha who gave Fr. Agnel the lead after she latched on to a perfectly threaded through ball and kept her calm inside the box to beat Annette. Rosary tried but were unable to find their way past their opponents. In the end, Fr. Agnel maintained their unbeaten run and finished the National Championships without conceding a goal. In the Senior Girls category, Fr. Agnel dominated the Golden Award as the following players were handed the awards: Akanksha Kandalkar (Golden Boot) and Ankita Shinde (Golden Glove) of Fr. Agnel Multipurpose School & Jr. College from Mumbai, and R. Adhithi (Golden Boot) of P.S Senior Secondary School from Chennai.

Fr. Agnel’s Multipurpose School and Junior College were crowned the Senior Boys National Champions after winning a thrilling penalty shoot-out against Government Higher Secondary School in the third game of the day. Govt. HSS started the game strong and pinned Fr. Agnel’s School on their side of the pitch for the first half. Fr. Agnel withstood the storm and headed into the break 0-0. The second half was similar, and Golden Boot winner Adarsh A.S. put his team ahead in the 71st minute. That goal served as motivation for Fr. Agnel, as their game-play went up a couple of notches, and they grew in confidence as the game wore on. Their persistence was rewarded when Fr. Agnel was awarded a penalty when their player was brought down unlawfully inside the penalty box. Kasib Sayed stepped up confidently and put the ball into the far corner, left of goalkeeper Akash Sanu to bring his team level. The game finished 1-1 and went to penalties, where Soham Popalghat made two crucial saves to help his team clinch the match.

The Golden award winners in this category are – Adarsh A.S. (Golden Boot and Golden Ball), Govt. HSS, Panampally, Kochi and Soham Popalghat (Golden Glove) Fr. Agnel’s Multipurpose School and Junior College.

The National Championships ended with the College Boys game between Nirmala College and Charuchandra College, and Charuchandra College emerged victorious, edging out Nirmala College by two goals to one. Charuchandra dominated from the beginning, keeping possession throughout the game, and opened the scoring in the 15th minute when Suraj Mahato put his team ahead. Jithin M. had an under-par performance, as Charuchandra’s defense had him subdued throughout the first half. The second half saw the game opening a little more, and when Ankit Mukherjee was presented with space outside the box, he made the most of it, drilling it past the goalkeeper. Abhiram Shaji managed to pull a goal back for Nirmala, and that seemed to have given his team an impetus for a comeback, but Charuchandra defended with discipline to see off the game and win the National Championship. Jithin M. walked away with the Golden Boot and Golden Ball award for his performance throughout the National Championships, while Abdul Salim V picked up the Golden Glove award, completing a clean sweep of the individual awards for Nirmala.