The best teams of North Zone 2 are here!

The City Championship Finals across the nation had already taken the young football lovers by storm, but the National Qualifiers took this fever to a whole new level. The North Zone 2 in the National Qualifiers saw champions of Lucknow, Delhi and Jaipur compete hard to secure their berth in the National Championship.
The proceedings to find the qualifying team from this zone began on 3rd December with the School Girls of CMS Aliganj (Lucknow Champions) taking on Neerja Modi School (Jaipur Champions) and Neerja Modi School managed to win 1-0. However, in the next game between Junior Boys, Lucknow’s La Martiniere won 3-0 against Neerja Modi School. The Senior Boys of Neerja Modi School too had to face a loss in their first game against DAV Inter College. After two successive defeats for Jaipur institute against Lucknow institutes, Jaipur’s St. Wilfred PG College re-instated Jaipur’s hold on the tournament with a 2-0 win against Lucknow’s Kalicharan PG College.

On the second day, 4th December, Delhi’s institutes introduced themselves with an emphatic win. School Girls of Fr. Agnel School completely overshadowed the performance of Lucknow’s CMS Aliganj. After the first defeat on Day 1, they desperately needed a win here, but this time, the task was even more difficult. Fr. Agnel School won this match by 6-0 and ended CMS Aliganj’s RFYS 2018-19 journey. Lucknow’s La Martiniere played against Delhi’s Vedas International School in the second game and lost by the same scoreline by which they had won on the first day. In the Senior Boys category, DAV Inter College played their second match against Mamta Modern Senior Sec School, Delhi. Lucknow’s Champions didn’t disappoint as they faced the tough opponents from Delhi with great courage. They were 0-0 till FT but kept their cool and executed all the spot kicks perfectly in the penalties to win the game by 6-5. Delhi’s Motilal Nehru College (Evening) travelled to Lucknow with different plans. While the matches witnessed at Guru Gobind Singh Sports College, Lucknow were all tight contests, Motilal Nehru College raised all the eyebrows by scoring 11 goals against Kalicharan PG College’s 2 goals. The second day concluded with three extremely high-pressure contests and one out and out one-sided game, and the awaiting third day was even more crucial for the teams who had a chance of booking their National Championship berth.

Delhi’s Fr Agnel School continued their superiority on the field on the third day by defeating Neerja Modi School by 5-0 in the School Girls category. This confirmed their place into the next round. The bad run of games for Neerja Modi School continued in the Junior Boys category as well. Vedas International School handed them a 2-0 defeat and became the second team from Delhi to get their National Championship ticket. In the Senior Boys encounte, Mamta Modern Senior Sec School from Delhi were ruthless against Neerja Modi School. They eliminated their Senior Boys team with a thumping 6-0 victory and ended their RFYS journey on a good note. The best game was saved for the last. The giants Motilal Nehru College (Evening) and Saint Wilfred PG College were up against each other in the College Boys category. It was a nail-biting encounter, with both the teams locked at 0-0 until 86th minute strike from Chetan Choudary helped St. Wilfred PG College win. This team from Jaipur showed steely resolve to overcome the Champions from Delhi and will look to continue their good form in the next phase too.
Three days of high expectations, nervous moments and performance pressure provided the most able teams and these winners from each category will now be aiming high. The list of the winners from all the categories is as below –

School Girls – Fr Agnel School, Delhi
Junior Boys – Vedas International School, Delhi
Senior Boys – DAV Inter College, Lucknow
College Boys – St. Wilfred PG College, Jaipur

The best teams of North Zone 2 are here!

Related News