East Zone 2 National Qualifiers done and dusted!

When champions meet each other in a battle to the end, there’s always a great spectacle that follows with their clash. On the 2nd, 3rd and 5th of December, the Champions of Bhubaneswar, Imphal Jamshedpur and Kolkata played out a four-way contest in the RFYS National Qualifiers - East Zone 2 and what followed next was an exhibition of great football that spanned for three days.

Day 1- Kolkata v Jamshedpur | Imphal v Bhubaneswar

In the Senior Boys clash at the East Bengal Ground, Gangadharpur Vidyamandir stamped Kolkata’s authority on Jamshedpur with a 5-0 win over Shyama Prasad Inter College. Striker Niloy Ghosh bagged the first hat-trick of the Ease Zone 2 and helped his team put up a formidable attacking display. Meanwhile, Ashokenagar Adarsha Balika Vidyalaya continued Kolkata’s winning run with a 6-0 win over Jamshedpur’s School Girls Champions, St. Robert’s High School. Four goals from midfielder Shibangi Ghosh made it look like a cakewalk for Ashokenagar, who started off their campaign with a perfect performance.

On Mohun Bagan Ground, Imphal’s Liberal College got the better of Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences in the College Boys encounter. The School Girls of Nilamani English School edged past Govt Girls High School and won 1-0.

To check out the complete list of results from Day 1 of East Zone, visit our matchcentre

Day 2 – Kolkata v Bhubaneswar | Imphal v Jamshedpur

The second day was full of attacking display, goals and high margin of victories. On the East Bengal Ground, City College of College and Commerce and Business Administration – The College Boys Champions of Kolkata cruised past Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences with a score line of 4-0. Gangadharpur Vidyamandir showed no signs of fatigue as they cruised past Sai International School with a full-time score of 7-0 and thus bagged two major wins in two days. In the Junior Boys fixture, Chowbaga High School slid past Kalinga Institute of Social-Science-School 1-0 at full-time. Ashokenagar Adarsha Balika Vidyalaya slumped to a 1-0 defeat against Govt Girls High School - The School Girls Champions of Bhubaneswar.

On Mohun Bagan Ground where the institutes of Imphal and Jamshedpur locked horns, the action was at its peak as Nilamani English School scored a staggering 16 goals against St. Roberts High School and did their goal difference a big favour in the School Girls game. CT HR Sec School had a comfortable 3-0 win against Pro Vani Vidya Mandir in the Junior Boys Fixture.

To check out how all the matches went by on day 2 of the East Zone 2 National Qualifiers, visit the matchcentre.

Day 3 – Kolkata v Imphal | Bhubaneswar v Jamshedpur

A day’s break later, the teams arrived at both the venues with an eye on the prize, which was the ticket to the National Championship. On the East Bengal Ground, City College of Commerce and Business Administration (Kolkata) booked their place in the National Championship after a 2-0 win over Liberal College. Nilamani English School completely outplayed Ashokenagar Adarsha Balika Vidyalaya to make their way to the National Championship as the full-time score read 10-0. The Junior Boys Champions of Kolkata, Chowbaga High School got a narrow 1-0 win over CT HR Sec School and joined the list of teams from Kolkata to get into the National Championship. Gangadharpur Vidyamandir was yet another team from Kolkata who got into the National Championship after winning two out of their two games.

Meanwhile, all the games played out on Mohun Bagan Ground were dead rubbers as the teams from Jamshedpur and Bhubaneswar played for pride. Govt Girls High School stole the show with a thumping 7-0 win over St Roberts High School and ended their RFYS journey on a high.

The East Zone 2 National Qualifiers was an enthralling event. The teams from Kolkata completely dominated their counterparts and will now look to extend that courtesy in the next phase.

Here are the teams from East Zone 2 that have qualified for the National Championship.

School Girls – Nilamani English School, Imphal
Junior Boys – Chowbaga High School, Kolkata
Senior Boys – Gangadharpur Vidyamandir, Kolkata
College Boys – City College of Commerce and Business Administration, Kolkata

East Zone 2 National Qualifiers done and dusted!

Related News