City Finals Day 6: Dehradun's newly crowned champions!


The first match was between Army Public School and Maharana Pratap Sports College at 8:00AM. It was a one-sided affair. Maharana Pratap managed to score three goals in the first half. Nischay Nainwal scored in the 15th minute. Then they score successively in the 26th and 27th minutes with shots from Ajay Arya and Karan Rana respectively.

Nischay Nainwal scored again the 35 minute, right at the beginning of the second half to make it 4-0 for Maharana Pratap. He made it a treble with another shot in the 50th minute. Maharana Pratap got some help from Army defenders when they got an own goal to make the score 6-0 in the 53rd minute. Aditya Chaudhary added to the woes of Army Public when he scored a goal in garbage time to take the match out of Army Public’s reach. Maharana Pratap won 7-0.


The second match, at 9:30AM, had Maharana Pratap Sports Complex facing off against Kendriya Vidyalaya. Right at the end of the first half, Lalit Rawat scored a goal for Maharana Pratap to make it 1-0. Kendriya Vidyalaya had a chance on a free kick, but missed by a matter of inches. Rimal Limbu sealed the loss for Kendriya with a strike in the 77th, securing a 2-0 victory for Maharana Pratap.


The third match, in the Sub Junior Boys Division, saw Maharana Pratap Sports Complex facing off against Nirmal Ashram Deepmala Public School. Maharana Pratap started the onslaught immediately with a goal in the 2nd minute from Piyush Joshi. Their second goal came in the 6th minute when Nitin Singh Harkotia tapped the ball past the keeper. Maharana Pratap kept the pressure up with goals in the 14th and 17th minutes of the match. The goal in the 14th minute was a free kick score by Piyush Joshi. He made it a treble with the goal in the 17th minute.

In the second half, Maharana Pratap kept the pressure on Nirmal Ashram constantly. They scored in the 42th minute, with a strike from Hemraj Johari. Nirmal Ashram finally managed to bite back with their first score of the match, by Sohit Semwal in the 45th minute. Maharana Pratap negated whatever push Nirmal Ashram could come up with by scoring another goal in the 55th minute. Piyush Goyal made it a four goal game by sealing the game for Maharana Pratap in the 57th minute. They ran away with a 7-1 victory over Nirmal Ashram.


The fourth match was University of Petroleum & Energy Studies VS Dav PG College. Dav PG College kicked off proceedings with a goal in the 8th minute by Kabindra Pun. There was a lot of back and forth and arguing among both teams for the rest of the half, including a red card for each time. But the score remained 1-0 going into the half.

In the second half, Kabindra Pun scored his second goal of the match in the 80th minute. That was it for them as final scoreline read 2-0 in favor of Dav PG College.


The final match of the day was Gorkha Military Inter College VS Unison World School. Gorkha Military started in an attacking manner from the get go. They managed to break through the Unison World defenses to score a goal in the 10th minute. In the second half, Unison World managed to improve their gameplay, but the Gorkha Military defense was too strong and Unison World could not score. Gorkha Military won the match and became city champions with the final scoreline reading 1-0 in their favor.

City Finals Day 6: Dehradun's newly crowned champions!

Related News